How do I disable, deactivate, or otherwise get rid of a user account?
The best way to get rid of an old account is to disable the user manually or deactivate the user via import. While you can delete an account manually, we typically don't recommend it.
Please note: Only Domain Administrators have the ability to manage accounts in this way. Deleting an account permanently and immediately removes the user and all of their associated data (including classes they own, grades, etc.) from your domain. This action cannot be undone.
Disabled and Deactivated accounts are the same in several important ways. For both types of account:
The main difference is that Disabled is a temporary status designed to suspend user access to an account, whereas Deactivated is PowerSchool Learning's "deleted" status for any accounts that have user data associated with them.
Here's a more detailed comparison:
Using Full Imports (Version 1)
To Disable: set "enabled" field in users.csv to 0.
Using Full Imports (Version 2)
To Disable: set "blocked" field in users.csv to 1.
To Deactivate: leave the user out of users.csv.
Using Partial Imports (Version 1)
To Disable: set "enabled" in update_users.csv to 0.
Using Partial Imports (Version 2)
To Disable: set "blocked" in update_users.csv to 1.
To Deactivate: Put the user in delete_users.csv.
Student data is viewable by teachers and admins.
Student data is viewable by teachers and admins when hidden students are revealed.
Users do show up in your export file.
Users do not show up in your export file.
Overall, Disabling is usually best for temporarily suspending access for active accounts . For example, if you want to:
Deactivating accounts is usually best for users who have permanently left and whose data does not need to be readily accessible.
Note: If you use a Student Information System (SIS) to send user information to PowerSchool Learning, we strongly recommend that you disable and/or deactivate users in the import file that you send to PowerSchool Learning, rather than manually. Please see the table above for how to do so, or check our CSV import specifications (Full Import, Partial Import, Full Import Version 2, or Partial Import Version 2) for more details.
If you don't use an SIS or do not regularly import account information, you can manually Disableusers.
1) Go to the Accounts tab in the Domain Control and find the user you want to deactivate.
2) Click on the Manage Account menu next to that user's name.
3) Click on the "Disable" menu choice.
4) You will then receive a warning. You can Continue or Cancel.
Note: if you use a Student Information System (SIS) to send user information to PowerSchool Learning, we strongly recommend that you re-enable and/or reactivate users in the import file that you send to PowerSchool Learning, rather than manually. Please see the table above for how to do so, or check our CSV import specifications (Full Import, Partial Import, Full Import Version 2, or Partial Import Version 2) for more details.
To Enable a user account, find the account by including Disabled or Deactivated users in your search.
You will know the user has been Disabled by the icon to the left of their name.
Then, click on the Manage Account menu next to their name and select Enable
We don't recommend deleting users except in a couple rare special cases. This is because deleting a user leads to the permanent destruction of all that user's data. Account deletion can't be undone.
Luckily, because Disabled and Deactivated users don't take up any licenses, there aren't a lot of reasons to delete a user. (If you're worried about data storage, we recommend deleting old copies of classes instead of deleting old users, though most Domains hit their license limits long before they hit their storage limits.)
Because account deletions permanently destroy data, accounts that have been accessed or modified can't be deleted by import. Only "stub" accounts that have never been used can be deleted by import. All other accounts can only be deleted manually via Domain Control.
Note: If you try to delete an account manually, you'll be asked to click through some warning messages first: remember, account deletions can't be undone!