Automated Discipline

jemyers1
Journeyman

Automated Discipline

Good morning, 

I am a rookie PowerSchool user as a school administrator. As a teacher from 2006-2016 I was PowerSchool user with PowerSchool Admin access the last few years as a teacher. When I became an administrator, my district used Skyward. I used Skyward from 2016-2021 as a middle school assistant principal and 2021-2023 as a high school principal. I have since switched roles and now serve as a high school assistant principal in a district using PowerSchool. One of my primary roles is behavior management. Recently, we have had district level discussions in K-12 in regard to equity and student discipline. To put it simply, our data is a complete mess. I am in a much larger district with much greater resources than the small district where I served as an assistant principal in middle school and as high school principal. Our process for reporting behavioral matters and subsequent steps in the process was very streamlined in Skyward that was completely automated. For example;

1. A teacher would create a referral in the system, select a behavior type (this was limited to the assigned codes from our DOE data exchange, they could not enter their own behavior type), write up a narrative, and submit.

2. Upon submission, a dialog box appear asking the teacher if this is a "classroom referral". If they selected "Yes" the referral was for documentation purposes only. If the teacher answered "No", administrators where automatically notified via email an office referral was entered for administrative response.