Unable to access schoology groups created via api

mbezaire
Practitioner

Unable to access schoology groups created via api

When I post a new group to Schoology's  https://api.schoology.com/v1/groups endpoint (with the title and description fields and any of the invite_type settings within options), I get back a 200 code and json data including the Schoology ID and more, suggesting it worked.

However, if I try to visit the group in my website, example  https://andoverlms.schoology.com/group/12345, I receive this message:

Private Access Only

The privacy settings on the page you are trying to visit do not allow your access. Please navigate Home to continue using Schoology.

Likewise, if after creating a group I attempt to use the newly found Schoology ID (not access code) of the group to add myself as an active member or as an admin, I get  an error 403 (forbidden). I try to post a member to the group using:

So it appears the API allows me to create groups which I then have no access to. What am I doing wrong?

3 Replies
ParitoshT
Community Support Expert
Community Support Expert

Hi @mbezaire,

I recommend reviewing this article on API documentation for Schoology Group to make sure that you are setting your fields correctly and performing the correct operations. 

Additionally, you created might be set to "Invite Only" and that might be the reason why others are unable to access it. In order to troubleshoot this issue further we might need to take a closer look at your setup by accessing your site. To protect your data privacy, I recommend reaching out to the Schoology team through a support case who should be able to assist you further with this.

Additionally, I recommend reviewing the Guide to Schoology groups.

ParitoshT

Community Moderator  

mbezaire
Practitioner