Master Schedule - 1st time user

aoliger
Rookie

Master Schedule - 1st time user

Ok so I am brand new to PS. I've had no training and have to try and figure this out by myself.  Here are my issues:

1. I hand build my master schedule - I have 0 idea how to enter it in PS.

2. I can't follow the PowerScheduler Load information because it talks about copying a master schedule from the previous year and I don't have a previous year.  

3. I believe I can go in to each teacher and under schedule add a new section - if one teacher teaches English 12 periods 1 and 5 do I create a different section for each period? Or do I just checkmark both periods 1 and 5 and then what do I use for sections? Does it matter?

Can anyone direct me to instructions that might help me?  I have researched and am getting nowhere and I'm so confused.

Thanks

Amy

4 Replies
JeffG9
PowerSchool Champion
PowerSchool Champion

Hi @aoliger,

1) To manually create sections in PowerScheduler, go to Courses>Click on Course>Sections Tab>New.

2) If you are not copying a Master Schedule from lat year, ignore that step.

3) See #1. Sections are created under Courses, not teachers. You will assign the teacher to the Section you are creating. Yes, if a teacher teaches English 12 Period 1 and 5, you would create 2 sections of English 12. One for Period 1 and one for Period 5 (periods are called Expressions in PowerSchool).

PowerSchool Mentor

To add to what @JeffG9 said, if you are starting from scratch and you are comfortable with spreadsheets, you could use the PowerScheduler Import Template to import the sections/assignments all at once.

PowerScheduler Import Template 

Doug Skinner

District Instructional Data Officer
Gateway Regional School District

Did your issue get solved? Please remember to give Kudos and/or select Accept As Solution on the helpful posts to thank the author and to help others find the solution.

SharonS1
PowerSchool Mentor
PowerSchool Mentor