I disagree. PowerSchool announcing the closure of Schoology Basic.

emora
Journeyman

I disagree. PowerSchool announcing the closure of Schoology Basic.

Dear PowerSchool Consortium,

I hope this letter finds you well. As a physics teacher and user of Schoology Basic, I am writing to you with concern and discontent regarding the recent acquisition of Schoology by PowerSchool and the notification of the closure of Schoology Basic. The acquisition of Schoology by PowerSchool raises questions about the company's approach to the education of the less privileged. It seems that the concern for the education of the less fortunate has been sidelined or, worse, that it is of no importance at all. Other free platforms are mentioned as alternatives, but this raises doubts about their effectiveness and genuine commitment to inclusive education. As a teacher, I am deeply concerned that education is becoming an instrument to perpetuate social and economic inequality. I have heard much about neoliberalism, and I always thought it was mere words associated with specific political currents. However, now I see that it is a tangible and frightening reality. I am concerned that education will become a mechanism to turn the poor into disposable workers and that Latin America will become a devalued version of China, where large corporations benefit at the expense of workers. I would like to see a different future, where education is a tool for empowerment and social mobility. However, it is challenging for me to maintain faith in this vision when greed and profit seem to prevail over human values, and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) become nothing more than a fantasy. I sincerely hope that the importance of equitable education is taken into consideration, and genuine efforts are made to ensure that educational platforms are available and accessible to all, regardless of their socioeconomic status. Education is a fundamental human right and should be treated as such. Yours sincer