Lock a Schoology assignment via the API

mbezaire
Practitioner

Lock a Schoology assignment via the API

As a teacher, I have the ability to lock an assignment to prevent students from making additional submissions. I can choose to lock on a specific date and time, or to lock now (which will default to the current date and time).

Using the Schoology assignment API, I can see whether an assignment has been locked or not (dropbox_locked field). I can also enable or disable submissions (putting an update that includes the allow_dropbox field).

How would I do the following using the API (instructions don't seem to mention these)?

• Differentiate between assignments that will lock in the future and ones that have no lock set (dropbox_locked is '0' for both of these situations)
  • Lock or unlock an assignment
  • See or alter the date and time of the lock for an assignment

Lastly, since I can't alter the lock state via the API, for assignments where I need to prevent students from uploading any more submissions or revisions, is there any downside or difference if I disable assignment submissions as opposed to using the lock feature?

3 Replies
ParitoshT
Community Support Expert
Community Support Expert

Hi @mbezaire,

I recommend continuing to review the API documentation and meanwhile, we hope that other community members jump in and share their insights on this if they have been able to find a solution to this use case.

mbezaire
Practitioner

Hi ParitoshT, if you are recommending that I continue to review the documentation because you are aware of something specific that I missed, I would appreciate a hint as to what I missed when I read it through previously. Thanks.

ParitoshT
Community Support Expert
Community Support Expert

Hi @mbezaire,