Disabling student access to distributed Google doc after due date/time passes?

Highlighted
skrishna
Specialist

Disabling student access to distributed Google doc after due date/time passes?

Hi all -

 

So when a teacher assigns work on Learning (via Google docs) and lets each student get their own copy of it, is there a way the kid can no longer add content to that document once the due date is over? Since the student becomes the owner of the document what options does the teacher (as the Editor) have in ensuring they are assessing the version which was the final saved version before the due date/time?

 

Any insights into how people have used this feature would be much appreciated.

 

Thank you.

 

Shashi

1 Reply
Community Moderator JanD
Community Moderator

Re: Disabling student access to distributed Google doc after due date/time passes?

Hello Shashi -

 

Thank you for your post in the PowerSchool Community. 

 

Since your question is related to Google Docs, and not the actual Learning Product, we can only provide you with our recommendations regarding the sharing of documents on Google Docs. 

 

There is an option, in Google Docs, to view the history of a document.  By using this option, you are not actually preventing the student from making additional changes to the document after the due date, but you are able to see each individual update made to the document based on the date and time.  You would be able to select the most recent version that was edited prior to the due date.

 

Also, below is a link to a resource on Google Docs regarding the sharing of files and ways to prevent updates to those files.

 

https://support.google.com/docs/answer/2494893?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en

 

We hope you find these recommendations helpful.  Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

 

We appreciate your participation in the PowerSchool Community.

 

JanD

 

PowerSchool Community Moderator

 

Remember to give Kudos to suggestions that help you! If a suggestion solves your issue, please select Accept As Solution on the post so others can see the solution, too!

 

 


@skrishna wrote:

Hi all -

 

So when a teacher assigns work on Learning (via Google docs) and lets each student get their own copy of it, is there a way the kid can no longer add content to that document once the due date is over? Since the student becomes the owner of the document what options does the teacher (as the Editor) have in ensuring they are assessing the version which was the final saved version before the due date/time?

 

Any insights into how people have used this feature would be much appreciated.

 

Thank you.

 

Shashi